Testimonials

Testimonials on this page must be unsolicited and posted with permission or posted in a public place/forum. If any comment here does not meet that qualification, please report it here.

Search:   

Testimonials



Thank you for organizing this. I had a lot of fun at the 2017 Father's Day Championship.

Adeel K (Jun 2017)

My name is Elisa Wang and I would like to thank you on behalf of my team for the wonderful tournament held. It was a great learning experience for my team and we would like to return next year for this tournament.

Elisa Wang (Apr 2017)

Thanks again for helping us setup our team. I really enjoyed playing at the 2017 USATW. You really organize and run a first-class event.

Mike Gilbert of the “GO-ROOKS” team. (Feb 2017)

Thank you again for your leadership and support of chess in our community.

David H. (Jan 2017)

I just wanted to say thank you for all of your help this past year in registering our Quarry Lane Chess Team in many events. Both of you (Zarina and Judit) have gone above and beyond by making sure that we are properly registered, informing us of prices, and suggesting what tournaments we attend in the future. On the behalf of the Quarry Lane Chess team, I wanted to convey our gratitude for all of your help.

UV (Jan 2017)

Thanks for putting on a great event!! You guys did a great job! (2016 CA Class Warfare Tournament)

Graham W. (Nov 2016)

Thanks for your quick response. You are always very quick on replying back and help. I really love your this attitude. Happy Thanksgiving.

Jagdeep K (Nov 2016)

Hi I didn't get to thank you for the great experience I had at this tournament . You ran a very good tournament you showed great assertiveness and especially you remarked on a topic that I have been questioning for a long time, that is the parents and the possible cheating that goes around when they stand in front of their child. I always felt like whenever I face a child at other tournaments that I was playing 2 people. they would always be looking up when it was their turn to move?? When you stated the rules and told them about the iphone & ipad and all the mobile devices and the consulting of these devices I felt like you hit the nail on the head. I was a victim of this in a big tournament in las vegas so I know how it feels first hand. I have to say this was the first time in a long time where I was relaxed and could focus on my game. Thanks for the great experience and you can count on me and my children playing at more of your tournaments. You deserve recognition on a job well done !!

Lawrence Martinez and family (Nov 2016)

Your responsiveness is always awesome! Contribution of Bay Area Chess to local chess cannot be measured!

Nishad S. (Feb 2016)

The new coming local kid players do feel that we have a much stronger chess community throughout the whole state. Even national wide, northern Cal now has created many more dedicated kid chess players in the recent past years. BayAreaChess is undoubtedly one of the key driven forces that have made all these happen. We sincerely appreciate all your hard work to BayAreaChess that benefit every single chess player in the bay area community. Simply cannot thank you more!

Zoe L. (Jan 2016)

Oliver attended the club on Tuesday and he loves it. Looking forward to the fun semester with chess! (@ Pinewood ES)

Yu Y. (Jan 2016)

I came know about BAC only about a month back or so and been impressed with the way you guys conduct tournament by maintaining your sanity in the chaos created by us parents and kids. All of you at BayAreachess are just awesome.

Shyju K. (Jan 2016)

Thank you for your prompt refund. My son Ethan enjoys Bay Area Chess weekly activities very much. Thank you for your leadership.

Anne H. (Dec 2015)

Anthony had a lot of fun this past weekend. (G/90d5 tourney 12/12)

Scott F. (Dec 2015)

Clayton still loves Chess after almost 5 years. ((after school enrichment class at McKinley)

Jennifer S. (Dec 2015)

Thanks for the detailed e-mail. These detailed e-mails are nothing short of awesome, keep up the good work! (orientation email of the 2015 Grade Level Champ.)

Ted O. (Dec 2015)

Hi Judith, I want to take a moment and say that the Grade Level Championship yesterday was VERY well run. I have been bringing my son to tournaments for the last ~4 years, and this was the FIRST time, I saw strict rules enforced while at the same time keeping the schedule on time. I was particularly happy to see that the TDs were very strict during the game as I had complained to you last month re kid’s cheating during the IM Emory Tate Championship. I also spoke to several parents who have bad experiences in the past, but yesterday, there were all praises regarding how well the event was conducted. This is terrific improvement and I hope to see continued implementation of everything we saw yesterday in future tournaments as well. Thx to you and your team.

Ram G. (Dec 2015)

Your help is truly appreciated, Dr. Sztaray! Your efficiency at work is truly amazing!

Julie X. (Dec 2015)

We have seen all the hard-works Bay Area chess had put in. Thank you for running the event. (2015 CA Class Warfare, Nov 27-29, 2015)

Phoebe C. (Nov 2015)

Thank you very much for putting on the tournament (2015 CA Class Warfare, Nov 27-29, 2015). It was great and well organized, especially compared to other tournaments I have been to. :)

Stewart T., OR (Nov 2015)

This was perhaps the best run tournament I have ever been to. (2015 CA Warfare, Nov 27-29,2015) There were some challenges but they were handled seamlessly. You were actively following up on situations in a way I don’t typically see. I was daunted about the effect of the football game but others who helped run the event had just the right answers and personal attention to make this a very enjoyable event. Thank you.

Robert R. (Nov 2015)

Thanks for a great tournament! *:) happy You're a very nice lady, and I really appreciate the way you run your events. Looking forward to the New Year's tournament!

Jason C. (Nov 2015)

I was not aware that post registering for the tournament we had the option to (purchase) play up. Your quick response really appreciated. You are the best.

Sanjay N. (Oct 2015)

Wow! What customer service! (after issuing full refund within 30 mins of notification of a conflicting program and canceling chess class before the 1st class) Yes, she loved the class.

Oak Knoll parent (Aug 2015)

Really good Father's Day tournament yesterday. Thanks a lot to Tom and Jordan. I hope you guys make this even bigger next year (bigger room, more publicity, more folks to manage the event etc.).

Surojit C. (Jun 2015)

Today my daughter Anika was excited to play with her equally excited father for the special Father's day tournament. What a great idea!!!! We wanted to send our heartfelt thanks to you and the team of Bay Area chess for organizing this event. I am secretly hoping there will be one for Mother's day next year :-) Thanks again! It was really special for both my daughter and father to share a trophy together on Father's Day. And also a big shout-out to Mr. Langland for making sure all these events run so very smoothly.

Chandrika R. (Jun 2015)

Thank you Judit and the organizer team! We had a great time in the father and son tournament today! Let me add that it's a brand new experience for our family (especially the dad and son). They both enjoyed the games and the teamwork. The dad said that now he knows how difficult it is to handle multiple rounds of games and perform consistently, and how bad it feels when one makes mistake or loses. The son was so excited being in the same tournament with Dad and was very proud about winning more games than Dad! Thank you guys so much for making this happen!!

Huifang Q. (Jun 2015)

We'd like to thank you for all your effort as well as the effort from both CalChess and BayAreaChess to organizing such a great event the last weekend for the Super State! My husband Wayne had been staying with Andrew for both days in the tournament, and he said he had been very satisfied with and highly impressed by the organization.

Zoe L. (May 2015)

Both my boys, Pranav and Krishna participated in the state championship last week end and they had a wonderful time, and so did we as parents. Pranav has been playing in the BAC tournaments for the past 4 years and as usual last week's event was very well planned and executed. Please forget the few glitches that you encountered and those are nothing when you running a tournament of this magnitude. Thank you so much for organizing this so well. You rocked!

Kalpana K. (May 2015)

Thanks very much for the efforts of organizing such huge event for the kids. We, as parents, know that it is no easy job and you have made it possible. Overall, Bayarea chess has done a great job and we are very pleased with what was provided. Keep going and it is my best wish that bay area continue to do great jobs to the chess community in south bay!

Phoebe C. (May 2015)

Thanks for organizing the Chess tournament on May 3rd and it was a great experience for my kid.

Geeta S. (May 2015)

Thanks for all your hard work today! You did a great job! There are so many little things to troubleshoot! Thanks again - we'll be back next with another dozen people!

Kent Edwards Grapeland Elementary Chess Team (Feb 2015)

Another good tournament Judit! Thanks for keeping the communication level high and really good discipline to ensure smooth execution. I particularly appreciate the emails with next round pairings and overnight updates. Impressive leadership by you and your team.

Dan D. (Feb 2015)

Thank you very much for your elaborate explanation. Your answers were very useful and informative. You (Judit) are an asset to bayareachess.com in-terms of resolving the customer issues and taking care of them....

Ramesh C. (Feb 2015)

Thanks Judit for the notes. (tournament standings and tentative pairings.) I am impressed by the level of commitment you have to bayareachess and bay area chess players.

Hui W. (chess dad) (Jan 2015)

The event (US Jr. Congress, 1/24-25/15) was organized really well and went great :-)) Hats off to Judit and the team. I know and understand on first hand basis how much planning, logistics and efforts is needed to run an event of this magnitude, successfully!

Heena J. (chess mom) (Jan 2015)

I registered for both (Superswiss 6/14/14 and Luperswiss 6/15/14)!! Actually, I also registered for Sacramento on 7/12 as well. So get this...I used the economy mode for all three tournaments and received a $10 discount for registering for three Grand Prix $wiss events. It comes to only $8.64 per round (assuming I win NO prize fund). Thank you BAC for making this so affordable!

Scott C. (Jun 2014)

Thanks for the prompt responses and kudos on the result of a lot of hard work -- the website keeps getting better and better! For all the hard work being done, the very least we can do is to acknowledge the work of many and to say a genuine "thanks"!

David H. (Mar 2014)

I was deeply impressed with the last tournament (New Year's 2014). You found yourself with more players than the facility was able to handle. You were able to adapt with no glitches that were noticeable to the players. Mostly I hope the TD knows what a fine job he did. He was stressed about what he saw as problems but it looked very smooth to me. Everything was as on time and smooth as other tournaments that did not need to overcome the same challenges.

Robert V. R. (Jan 2014)

My son participated in the tournament yesterday (New Year's tournament) and had a wonderful first tournament experience. Kudos to Salman and co for the way they handled so many last minute on-site registrations and overall organization.

Prasanna P. (Jan 2014)

My son, Pascal D., attended two sessions of your summer camp at Fairmeadow this past summer, and he loved it. He would like to continue with Bay Area Chess Corp this fall. He absolutely loved your camps this summer, and he's been excited to play chess every opportunity he gets ever since.

Heather D. (Aug 2013)

Great effort and hardwork by Salman and Team today at Hilton hotel. Moreover great encouragement to kids. We can see that during tournaments.

Ramesh C. (Jul 2013)

Hello, I write to thank you for the recent kids tournament in Cupertino. I was especially impressed with how seamlessly you handled all the late and no-shows. This was my son\'s second tournament with you organization, and he appears to like the competition, and is looking forward to his first win. See you in August.

Timothy R. (Jul 2013)

My son LOVED the camp yesterday! Thank you for making it a great experience, Justin!

Beth W. (Jul 2013)

Bay Area Chess is the best!

Judit Sztaray (Jul 2013)

You really did a great job! Not everyone showing that much respect to us titled players as you are. Thanks for providing me great conditions, such a hotel. And, most important tournament went so smooth,with no problem.

~ Grand Master Melikset Khachiyan, Professional Chess Player and Coach from Los Angeles Area (Jun 2013)

It was the well organized tournament in Santa Clara on 4/27 and 4/28. I could see the difference this time. Everything like sitting arrangements for parents, trophies etc were ged.

~ Mr. Manish Gupta, Chess Dad from Fremont, CA (May 2013)

It was the well organized tournament in Santa Clara on 4/27 and 4/28. I could see the difference this time. Everything like sitting arrangements for parents, trophies etc were pre-planned and well arranged.

~ Mr. Manish Gupta, Chess Dad from Fremont (May 2013)

Just based on my interaction with Zarina, I'm really excited about my son attending the tournament. She was so professional and helpful.

~ Leilani Talty, Chess Mom from Fresno (Apr 2013)

Thank you, Zarina, You are the BEST! It is very much appreciated.

~ Mr. Ladia Jirasek, Chess Dad from Marin County (Apr 2013)

I have to tell you, I was really impressed that you responded so quickly at 9:30pm!!!! Thank you for your prompt response and assistance. You put out a great image for your organization.

~ Leilani Talty, Chess Mom from Fresno (Apr 2013)

As for the people (like yourself) who step up to meet the challenge on a large scale. Promoting chess and organizing... I have respect for them. So, with that said keep up the good work.

~ Demetrius Goins, Chess Coach from San Francisco Bay Area (Apr 2013)

I DO know, from your posts online and by seeing how you work with the kids in a chess tournament, that you are NOT the uncaring type.

~ Mr. Bill Conrad, Chess Player and Chess Coach, San Francisco, CA and Los Angeles (Apr 2013)

As for the people (like yourself) who step up to meet the challenge on a large scale. Promoting chess and organizing... I have respect for them. So, with that said keep up the good work.

~ Demetrius Goins, Chess Coach from San Francisco Bay Area (Apr 2013)

I DO know, from your posts online and by seeing how you work with the kids in a chess tournament, that you are NOT the uncaring type.

~ Mr. Bill Conrad, Chess Player and Chess Coach, San Francisco, CA and Los Angeles (Apr 2013)

The Berkeley Chess School looks forward to participating in the Super State Championships this coming April. The organizer, Salman Azhar, was rightfully awarded the bid by CalChess for the sixth time – the only State USCF Affiliate. He will run the tournament in his usual fair and efficient manner, refusing to play favorites as always, and putting all his energy into seeing that the players have the best and most pleasant experience possible.

~ Ms. Elizabeth Shaughnessy, Founder and President (Mar 2013)

"The Berkeley Chess School looks forward to participating in the Super State Championships this coming April. The organizer, Salman Azhar, was rightfully awarded the bid by CalChess for the sixth time – the only State USCF Affiliate. He will run the tournament in his usual fair and efficient manner, refusing to play favorites as always, and putting all his energy into seeing that the players have the best and most pleasant experience possible.

~ Ms. Elizabeth Shaughnessy, Founder and President (Mar 2013)

It is an honor to play for BAC! And we do appreciate the opportunity! Thank you!

~ Ms. Zeba Ibrahim, Chess Mom from Harker School, San Jose (Mar 2013)

Wow! thanks for taking care of so quickly! the world should always work this way.

~ Ms. Cindy Lee, Chess Mom from Oak Knoll School, Menlo Park (Mar 2013)

Thank you so much for your effort, enthusiasm and passion for organizing such grand, professionally and ethically managed tournaments for our kids! The Ibrahim family could not thank you enough!

~ Ms. Zeba Ibrahim, Chess Mom from Harker School, San Jose (Mar 2013)

Thank you, Zarina, You are the BEST! It is very much appreciated.

~ Mr. Ladia Jirasek, Chess Dad from Del Mar Middle School, Tiburon (Mar 2013)

You have done a marvelous job, Salman. Thanks to you the Bay area is on the chess map today.

~ Mr. Armen Sevian, Chess Dad of International Master Samuel Sevian from Don Callejon School, Santa Clara (Mar 2013)

I would like to request that more chess classes should be added till the end of the school year. I know many of the kids enjoyed it and would sign up again.

~ Ms. Cindy Lee, Chess Mom from Oak Knoll Elementary, Menlo Park (Mar 2013)

My son had a great time in the Bay Area Chess camps, from 6/11/12-6/22/12.

~ Ms. Marina Ovchinnikov, Chess Mom from The Harker School, San Jose (Mar 2013)

"You did a great job promoting chess at considerable sacrifice in time and sometimes money and many people do not know just how much you contributed to California and national chess.

~ Mr. Tim Tobiason, Owner and founder TobyChess, Columbus, NB (Mar 2013)

Salman Azhar: this place is desperately in need of someone to nurture chess... we were spoiled by you, the scene here is lacking.

~ Mr. Joseph Bick, Chess Dad from Davis, CA - now in Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia (Mar 2013)

I want to thank you for all the great events you hosted. I always found your events to be well organized with a good attendance. Many thanks for all the good times.

~ Mr. Tim Tobiason, Owner and founder TobyChess, Columbus, NB (Mar 2013)

Thanks for the great organization of National tournaments.

~ Mr. Gang Xiong, Chess Coach and Director of Foster City Chess Club, Foster City, CA (Feb 2013)

Thanks a lot and i hope i can be there next year, the tournament was excellent.

~ Ms. Shirley Buitrago, Chess Player from Venezuela (Jan 2013)

Salman, thank you for all your help.You are the best.

~ Mr. David Zhao, Chess Dad from St. Mark's School, San Rafael, CA (Jan 2013)

Thanks Salman, you can now add chess carpool organizer to the long list of amazing chess accomplishments you do for the bay area. :)

~ Ms. Sarah McCarty-Snead, Chess Mom from Berkeley, CA (Jan 2013)

I thank Bay Area Chess (you, Mr. John McCumiskey, Tom Langland, Salman Azhar) for helping to make this well-organized, enjoyable tournament happen! I'm looking forward to play again next year.

~ GM Julio Sadorra, Grandmaster from Cavite, Philippines and Dallas, TX (Jan 2013)

Please treat the credit as a donation to Bay Area Chess. Thank you for everything this weekend. You are a superb organizer and leader of the chess cause in the Bay Area.

~Ms. Kate Canessa, Chess Mom from Atherton, CA (Dec 2012)

Thanks for your quick response... The best part of this experience is that my son is excited to see his ratings. He now looks forward to more tournaments. Thanks to Bay Area Chess and your leadership !!!

~ Rohit Gurtu, Chess Dad and Attorney from Cupertino, CA (Dec 2012)

Thanks Bay Area Chess for a great end of the year tournament - the Winter Open! And thanks to Scott Mason and Justin Easterday for an awesome job directing the event. See you all at the New Year Open - it's going to be a blast!

~ Scott Cameron, Chess Player and Attorney from Sacramento, CA (Dec 2012)

This community of like-minded parents and families are so lucky to have you to offer the programs that you do so that our children (and adults) have the mental stimulation that these tournaments offer them on a regular basis.

~Ms. Kate Canessa, Chess Mom from Atherton, CA (Dec 2012)

Thank you so much for making the Magnus event happen! What a lifetime experience for the kids to see and talk with the world #1 chess player, Magnus Carlsen. Reka, our 8 yrs old daughter, will never forget this hour in her life.

~ The Sztaray Family, Chess Family from Stockton, CA (Nov 2012)

You should be given the award of promptness by USCF:-)

~ Madhavi Saraf, Chess Mom from Kennedy Middle School in Cupertino, CA (Nov 2012)

Salman, thank you for all you did to make this possible. It was a great day w the phenom Magnus. You might want to pass this pic along to the boy's family.

~ Brian Morris, President of Auburn Chess Club & Chess Player (Nov 2012)

Not only did she see and talk to her favorite chess player in person, she could play a blindfolded simul with him!! And got to keep the chessboard with a special dedication saying 'To Reka, Thank for the game, Magnus Carlsen' How cool is that??!!!

~ The Sztaray Family, Chess Family from Stockton, CA (Nov 2012)

It's great to see what you are doing for kids and chess in the Bay Area Salman Azhar! We need more clones of you... :-).

~ Surekha Nidamarty, Chess Mom from The Harker School in San Jose, CA (Nov 2012)

Thank you for the invitation and for helping to put this event together; it was an incredible opportunity to see him and hear him speak.

~ Cole Erskine, Chess Player from the Bay Area, CA (Nov 2012)

Salman, it is impossible to find people with the kind of zeal you have in everything you do; especially wrt to chess for kids! You are a rock star.

~ Satish Maruvada, Chess Dad from The Harker School in San Jose, CA (Nov 2012)

Amazing, still unbelievable. Your energy and enthusiasm is yet again much appreciated.

~ The Sztaray Family, Chess Family from Stockton, CA (Nov 2012)

Elias was thrilled! Thank you very much for giving us all this opportunity. It was an awesome experience for all the blossoming chess players.

~ Khalid Nasr, Chess Dad from Atherton, CA (Nov 2012)

I thank the support of Bay Area Chess for helping Milind to succeeded in chess. Without the support of Bay Area chess, this was not possible. All the quads and swiss conducted by Bay Area Chess helped Milind a lot to improve his game. I really mean it...

~ Chandan Maiti, Chess Dad of National Champion Milind Maiti from Cupertino, CA (Nov 2012)

It was an incredible National class event! Thank you to the Bay Area Chess club staff for yet another great tournament. I am going to wear my "National USCF" event t-shirt to chess club tomorrow and make sure everyone knows it was a well run tournament worthy of the authentic National status that it was.

~ Scott Cameron, Chess Player from Sacramento, CA (Oct 2012)

Thanks for all the hard work that went into making this weekend's tournament a success. I will look forward to seeing you at the next tournament, and to perhaps chatting again from time to time.

~ David Hwang, Chess Dad from Corte Madera, CA (Oct 2012)

Thank you for a wonderful tournament weekend. It was very well organized and I heard so many compliments from parents! The venue was great and very comfortable for waiting parents! :).

~ Sarah McCarty-Snead, Chess Mom from Oxford, UK and Albany, CA (Oct 2012)

Was a great event: All flew so smoothly, rounds on time, organized, and it seemed everyone were having good time. You brought it to perfection, with the right team and people. Don't forget how much you achieved! And how many people you impact...

~ Dr. Zachi Baharav, Chess Player and Chess Dad from Palo Alto, CA (Oct 2012)

Thanks for your ever prompt response, Salman (I am amazed at your energy and commitment ).

~ Nagbhushan Veerapaneni, Chess Dad from Saratoga, CA (Oct 2012)

Andrew has enrolled in the summer camp of your program and has improved quite a bit in the summer.

~ Yuxin Zoe Liu, Chess Mom from a school in Cupertino, CA (Oct 2012)

The place in cupertino was a terrific location. It's really great that you are offering stuff over on this side of the Valley

~ Lynn Reed, Chess Club Founder and Teacher, Bullis Charter School in Los Altos, CA (Oct 2012)

My son Yash had a blast at chess camp and we want to explore how he can get more chess over the school year.

~ Deepa Shetty, Chess Mom from Ohlone Elementary in Palo Alto, CA (Aug 2012)

My son loved camp so much that he wants to go next week too.

~ Rachel Miner, Chess Mom from Los Gatos, CA (Aug 2012)

My son had a great time in the Bay Area Chess camps, from 6/11/12-6/22/12.

~ Marina Ovchinnikov, Chess Mom from The Harker School in San Jose, CA (Aug 2012)

My son loved camp so much that he wants to go next week too.

~ Rachel Miner, Chess Mom from Los Gatos, CA (Aug 2012)

We were also very grateful for the Master Camp training provided by BayAreaChess to Andrew.

~ Yuxin Zoe Liu, Chess Mom from a school in Cupertino, CA (Aug 2012)

I saw Aamir as a Tournament Director last Sunday for the first time. I'm so impressed! He is so young yet has such a control over the kids and disputing parents!

~ Zeba Ibrahim, Chess Mom from The Harker School in San Jose, CA (Jul 2012)

We are so grateful that you founded BayAreaChess and are currently running it with your full passion. Our son Andrew Peng surely among many kids in the area who is enjoying the great benefit from it. I am deeply impressed by all the amazing achievement in your career also.

~ Yuxin Zoe Liu, Chess Mom from Cupertino, CA (Jul 2012)

My daughter really had fun at the camp so we would like to extend it for one more week and we can opt for Harker campus this time.

~ Rashmi Shrivastava, Chess Mom from Sunnyvale, CA (Jul 2012)

It was a great event over the weekend on Summer Open, even though Andrew did not perform well. It provided a great arena for the kids and adults on all levels to play chess. The cash prize returning was fantastic.

~ Yuxin Zoe Liu, Chess Mom from Cupertino, CA (Jul 2012)

Thank you for organizing this wonderful chess tournament.

~ Wanrong (Wayne) Qiu, Chess Dad from Cupertino, CA (Jul 2012)

Pranav gained his experience in chess mainly through bay area chess tournaments and we love your tournaments too.

~ Kalpana Krishnamurthy, Chess Mom from a school in Fremont, CA (Jun 2012)

I really appreciate your proactive help, this is amazing service!

~ Jesse Flores, Chess Player from from Santa Clara, CA (Jun 2012)

Thanks again for another fun tournament - your positive and fun tournaments are a big reason why Taylor is still engaged in chess. Again, I really liked the time control...

~ Michael McCreary, Chess Player and Chess Dad from San Luis Obispo, CA (Jun 2012)

You are very encouraging, organized and positive person. IM Emory Tate is a great coach. Thanks for connecting us with him.

~ Sonia Singhal, Chess Mom from Sunnyvale, CA (Jun 2012)

Andrew started his chess camp at Harker today. We knew he will like it!

~ Yuxin Zoe Liu, Chess Mom from a school in Cupertino, CA (Jun 2012)

Thank you for using your [Salman's] amazing ability to watch out for, and care for your family, friends, chess players, programmers, kids, concerns with a noble cause ... I certainly hope you have some time for yourself. When I see the happiness in your eyes when you are supporting others I know you are the man for the job. Thank you for allowing me to share this happiness in your life.

~ Life Master Arthur Braden from Auburn, CA (May 2012)

Just wanted to say thanks for another great tournament. You guys do a great job generally, and you [Salman] do a fanastic job yourself keeping cool under pressure. :)

~ Katie Lipka, Mom of young chess enthusiast from San Mateo, CA (May 2012)

Your events excude granduer and quality. The quads at our school take all day and use benches without any back support. Please run the tournaments at our school! I am also impressed how set an example for our kids by not stooping to the level of the people who attack you because they feel insecure and threatened by your achievements. You should also run our after-school program so we raise our kids in a positive atmosphere.

~ Anonymous Chess Parent from an anonymous school in Fremont, CA (May 2012)

Thank you for all that you have done in spreading the joy of chess throughout the Bay Area.

~ Jeff McCann, Chess Player from Alamo, CA (May 2012)

Salman is lucky to have you (Zarina) processing all the entries! One of the parents of a student also informed us that you helped walk her through the registration process, so thank you for that as well!

~ Jeff Gordon, JD, Co-founder Marin Scholastic Chess from Marin County, CA (Apr 2012)

We should all thank you for your great organization.

~ Gang Xiong, Founder Foster City Chess Club in Foster City, CA (Apr 2012)

Even in spite of ... a perfect storm of drama on Saturday I thought it went well. Most of the parents and coaches I interacted with seemed very pleased.

~ Michael McCreary, Chess Dad from San Luis Obispo, CA (Apr 2012)

Thank you very much from me and from Val for this collective effort to straighten up the issue; you all are great. The matter at hand might've appeared unimportant (it certainly wouldn't decide anything), but it meant quite a bit to the boy.

~ Yuriy Mestman, Chess Dad from Mountain View, CA (Apr 2012)

Thanks for your great effort, to make this such a successful event!

~ Hua Zhang, Chess Mom from San Jose, CA (Apr 2012)

Thank you, Salman! Amazing feeling. The State Championship was so well organized (as all of your tournaments). We look forward to next year. :)

~ Nargis Radjapova Iglesias, Chess Mom of Kindergarten Super States Champion 2012 from Fremont, CA (Apr 2012)

Salman - What an incredible day - it was our first tournament and we look forward to many more.

~ Deborah Piscione, Chess Mom from Los Altos Hills, CA (Apr 2012)

Thank you for your quick response... I appreciate all your hard work in arranging these tournaments. My son enjoys them immensely.

~ Mark Boennighausen, Chess Dad from Los Altos, CA (Apr 2012)

I can't believe the difference your organization has made in my son's chess skills. The previous afterschool program had him showing no improvement after his first session. After one session with your program he was winning chess tournaments and bringing home trophies. I've also been impressed by the high caliber of instructors you have implementing your program in our school. It's amazing to me after a long challenging week of school work my son always looked forward to more 'brain exercise' with his weekly chess class. Keep up the fantastic work!

~ Patrina Mack, Chess Mom from Atherton, CA (Apr 2012)

Regarding our refund... we are wondering whether we could take it as a donation back to the Bay Area Chess since you play such an important role in my son Andrew's chess journey.

~ Yuxin Zoe Liu, Chess Mom from a school in Cupertino, CA (Apr 2012)

I was going through LinkedIn recommendations and discovered that the chess program was a hobby project not your full-time job ­ really amazing! You've done an excellent job with the program. I was also impressed to see that many of your instructors also had full-time day jobs and did this as a hobby.

~ Patrina Mack, Chess Mom from Atherton, CA (Apr 2012)

We'd like to see your program to further thrive, which will in return benefit our kids in this area.

~ Yuxin Zoe Liu, Chess Mom from a school in Cupertino, CA (Apr 2012)

Bay Area Chess is a fantastic resource! My son has been involved with Bay Area Chess for over 4 years in both chess clubs and tourneys. Salman is the number one organizer and has held numerous tourneys, including national tourneys, after school clubs, and summer camps in numerous locations. The opportunities are truly wonderful. Bay Area Chess is the best.

~ Becky Burwell, Chess Mom from Palo Alto, CA (Mar 2012)

Your timely responses really help and that is the reason we love Bay Area Chess tournaments.

~ Kalpana Krishnamurthy, Chess Mom from a school in Fremont, CA (Mar 2012)

Please use my message on your website. I meant every word that I said. You are definitely the most diligent chess advocate in the Bay Area!

~ Julie Xie, Chess Mom from Fremont, CA (Mar 2012)

Congratulations on successful organization of US Chess Congress. We would especially like to thank you for all the personal help you extended to us during our visit to SF to play in the tourney. We would certainly like to come over next year for your tournament.

~ Harry Deshpande, Chess Dad from Seattle, Washington (Mar 2012)

Thank you sooooo much for taking care of that for me! You're the best!

~ Jeanette Robles, Chess Mom from Foothill Christian School in Glendora, CA (Mar 2012)

My son Andrew Peng was with your summer camp last year and he had a wonderful experience! This year Andrew would like to go back to your camp for the summer.

~ Yuxin Zoe Liu, Chess Mom from a school in Cupertino, CA (Mar 2012)

We enjoy coming to these very well run events in the Bay Area, one of the strongest areas in the country.

~ Ed Wong, Chess Dad and Coach from Coalinga, CA (Mar 2012)

Many thanks for taking time from your busy day and attend to this matter. Your diligence at work is truly appreciated.

~ Julie Xie, Chess Mom from Fremont, CA (Mar 2012)

When we had the opportunity to attend one of your other events, you did a marvelous job! It's nice to know that in this technological age, there are still people out there who offer customer service! Thank you for always going the extra mile! Not only for the kids - but also for the parents who, like me, are always in need of extra help along the way! :) You truly are the best!

~ Jeanette Robles, Chess Mom from Foothill Christian School in Glendora, CA (Mar 2012)

You are Bay Area Chess. You do a fantastic job. There really wouldn't be real chess in this area if not for your volunteer work.

~ Phil Shpilberg, Chess Dad from St. Mark's School in San Rafael, CA (Feb 2012)

My older son Rishab absolutely loves it.

~ Roopa Agarwal, Chess Mom from Santa Clara, CA (Feb 2012)

I must say you do spend a lot of your weekends and evenings promoting the local chess culture, I am assuming at the expense of your invaluable family time. We are indeed lucky to have you amongst us here in the Bay Area.

~ Sharmila Vijay, Chess Mom from Fremont, CA (Jan 2012)

I have so much admiration for people like you who dedicate a big portion of their lives to what they really enjoy which is helping people find their aspirations. If it were not because of your tournaments, we probably would not have the chance to get so good at chess in such a short time.

~ Abu Taghizadeh, Chess Dad of an Expert 9-year-old Player and repeat National Champion from Foster City, CA (Jan 2012)

What a great event! Thanks again for everything & congratulate your son for a good game!

~ Kimberly Tredway-Mosser, Chess Mom from Southern California on SoCal Grade Level Championship (Jan 2012)

Thanks to your local tourneys and time, we dont need to go far to find challenging tournaments for him [my son] due to his longer time control needs. Appreciate you pitching in and playing a rated game [when his opponent did not turn up on Friday].

~ Sharmila Vijay, Chess Mom from Fremont, CA (Jan 2012)

I am sorry you have to deal with challenging situations and kids/parents/coaches that don't always act sportsman-like.

~ Phil Shpilberg, Chess Dad from St. Mark's School in San Rafael, CA (Dec 2011)

There is no one who can run large tournament and set new attendance records year after year like Dr. Salman Azhar and his entire professional team.

~ Anonymous Chess Parent from Weibel Elementary School in Fremont (Dec 2011)

"I have tremendous respect for you, Salman and everyone that volunteers their time to set up these wonderful tournaments.

~ Phil Shpilberg, Chess Dad from St. Mark's School in San Rafael, CA (Dec 2011)

You have blessed me greatly. Few would take the time to reply when traveling... your diligence resulted in our being able to get all the enjoyment we hoped out of that tournament.

~ Robert Russo, Chess Player and Parent from Citrus Heights, CA (Dec 2011)

Thank you for your nice comments and for all your efforts at organization. You are one of the few people who manages to maintain high quantity and quality in anything, let alone a labor-intensive task like tournament organization.

~ Nikunj Oza, Chess Player from San Jose, CA (Dec 2011)

As always we sincerely appreciate the opportunities you give the kids by conducting these events frequently and in convenient locations

~ Vijaylakshmi Abhijit, Chess Parent from Regnart Elementary School (Dec 2011)

Great championship yesterday!

~ Sztaray Family, Chess Parents and Players from Stockton (Dec 2011)

My children (daughter and son) and I play chess and have participated in the chess tournaments conducted by the Bay Area Chess Federation. More than the results (sometimes good and some times not), we like the friendly congenial atmosphere in which the tournaments have been conducted. We have enjoyed ourselves in these tournaments and have made several friends. I thank Dr.Salman for making this possible with his sincerity, dedication and also the efficiency with which the tournaments are conducted at Bay Area Chess Federation. All the best in his endeavors. We will come back for more!!!

~ Venkata Nandula, Chess Dad and Chess Player (Dec 2011)

Thank you for running another State Championship Tournament. Successful California chess coaches are indebted to you for providing a stage for better trained players to excel on

~ Chris Torres, President TCAMA and One of the Top California Coaches (Dec 2011)

I had participated in the tournaments of Cal Chess Academy and I was amazed to see the kids trained by Dr.Salman excel in every game. Dr.Salman is a man of great dedication and he will get his students to the International Arena shortly. All the best in his endeavours!!!

~ Chandrasekaran Ramanan, Chess Player from India (Dec 2011)

I am very impressed by how on top of details you are. This was of special help when we wanted to add him to the tournament at the last minute.

~ Robert Russo, Chess Player and Parent from Citrus Heights, CA (Dec 2011)

We have read many great reviews of you and your organization (Bay Area Chess). Your prompt feedback is another reflection of your dedication for the chess community. We truly appreciate you helping us understand where William should start now.

~ Julie Xie, Chess Mom from Gomes Elementary in Fremont, CA (Nov 2011)

I am proud that I started playing in foreign soil only under you and this only has given me more courage to go ahead. All the best to you and your kids for all your future endeavours.

~ Chandrasekaran Ramanan, Chess Player from India (Nov 2011)

Dr. Salman and his team have worked very hard to bring some national tournaments to Bay Area to make it accessible to more Bay Area kids. A ton of thanks to Dr. Salman! Wish Bay Area Chess and Bay Area kids even greater success!

~ Gang Xiong, Chess Dad from Foster City, CA (Nov 2011)

Just want to give a positive feedback. The tournament was very successful. It got an overwhelming response and it wasn't easy to handle that big crowd and your team did a perfect job on having everything on time and as planned. Keep up the good work. I think you would have got very tired by now but you should be very happy on the way it went.

~ Srinivas Susarla, Chess Dad from Fremont, CA (Nov 2011)

Since 2008, my son Chris Xiong and many other Foster City kids have started playing serious chess from Bay Area Chess tournaments, organized by Dr. Salman. They started from the very first level Booster, gradually growing to Premier, Champs, Elite, Star, and SuperStar, under the guidance and coaching of many excellent coaches.

~ Gang Xiong, Chess Dad from Foster City (Nov 2011)

My son seems to be enjoying learning chess and I wanted to express my thanks for making it interesting for these little kids.

~ Radha S, Chess Mom from San Jose, CA (Oct 2011)

The kids and the parents not only enjoy the tons of fun in playing chess, exercising their brain for accurate calculation, making friends in Bay Area and outside of Bay Area, but also more importantly learning how to handle wins and losses that will be met frequently in their future life.

~ Gang Xiong, Chess Dad from Foster City, CA (Sep 2011)

Thank you Zarina, and thanks to the coach that work in La Entrada. It was fun, they learned a lot and they cannot wait to join again in fall. We wish you all a great summer.

~ Carmen Patino, Chess Mom from La Entrada School in Menlo-Atherton, CA (Jun 2011)

Thanks Salman for going the extra mile and getting the [replacement] rophy for Ethan. You are a man with a good heart.

~ Mr. Robert Pau, Chess Dad from Irvine, CA (Jun 2011)

Thank you, it's a great pleasure to have the chess club here... We are beginning to look at next year and would like to continue the chess class at our school.

~ Ms. Pam VandeKamp, Principal at Hillside Elementary School in San Lorenzo, CA (Jun 2011)

I am very grateful for the opportunities you have extended to our students and community. You have been very flexible and understanding.

~ Mr. Jose Cortez, English and Spanish Teacher at Adelante Academy in San Jose, CA (Jun 2011)

We have thoroughly enjoyed having Bay Area Chess and Chuck and Ethan at our school this year. Their students are always excited to attend the program.

~ Ms. Pam VandeKamp, Principal at Hillside Elementary School in San Lorenzo, CA (May 2011)

Chess is an excellent addition to our school experience. I hope to continue our partnership into the future. I am indebted to the generosity of both yourself and your organization.

~ Mr. Jose Cortez, English and Spanish Teacher at Adelante Academy in San Jose, CA (May 2011)

Thank you Salman for the tremendous work putting this huge event together. Indeed it is the hardest scholatic chess event of the year.

~ Hua Zhang, Chess Mom from San Jose, CA (Apr 2011)

I just wanted to congratulate you on putting together such a great event that was very well organized, started on time and was enjoyable for both the players and parents.

~ Dr. Rajiv Nayar, Chess Dad from Danville, CA (Apr 2011)

Salman deserves loads of Kudos for pulling it off again this year despite his over commitment. The vast majority of people loved the event and are excited to return next year.

~ Dr. Alan Kirshner, California's Most Respected and Experienced Organizer on State Championship 2011 (Apr 2011)

We love your program!

~ Patrinia Donelly, Chess Mom from Menlo-Atherton, CA (Apr 2011)

It was a lot less stressful than other similar tournaments we have been to. Thanks so much.

~ Dr. Rajiv Nayar, Chess Dad from Danville, CA (Apr 2011)

(As always) Amazing turnaround Salman and team! My hats off to you all.

~ Nishad Somalwar, Chess Dad from Santa Clara, CA (Mar 2011)

I wanted to tell you that my husband, Michal, was very impressed by how the tournament yesterday was conducted. It was the first time he came back with rave reviews on how organized it was run and how great the venue itself was - Thank you. It is quite a trek for him and my son to get to these tournaments (yesterday's trip was 2.5 hours each way) so he really appreciated the efficiency and smoothness of how things were run. My son had a great time... Great Job!

~ Maribelle L. Warzecha, Chess Mom from Placerville, CA (Feb 2011)

... People's tournament was very well attended, very high-level, and fun.

~Dr. Zachi Baharav, Chess Player and Dad from Palo Alto, CA (Feb 2011)

Well done on a great tourney this past weekend. Hunter got to play chess 3 out of his 5 days off school so it was a great weekend for him.

~ Becky Burwell, Chess Mom from Palo Alto, CA (Feb 2011)

I very much appreciate all the time and your expertise that you have taken with Josh and all the kids..... I wonder if he will find that he misses it at some point and then we'll be back!

~ Ms. BethAnn Goldberg, Parent of After School Enrichment student who is taking a break from Chess at Laurel Elementary School in Atherton, CA (Jan 2011)

Please give me a chance to give back to your organization for Alina's happiness in the past several years.

~ Perry Ma, Chess Dad from San Jose, CA (Nov 2010)

I wanted to thank you one more time - my son absolutely loved his chess camp experience and looking back to classes during the school year!

~ Ms. Ellen Boucher, Parent of Summer Camp and After School Enrichment student at The Harker School in San Jose, CA (Aug 2010)

Just wanted to say thanks again for all of your help. I also appreciated how you handled yourself in the coaches meeting.

~ Mr. Sean Wilson, Chess Coach from Corning Elementary, Corning, CA (Apr 2010)

I would like to thank you guys for providing such a wonderful program - if I knew it would be so good, I would sign my son into chess since Kindergarten. I got so used to receiving weekly updates from Glenn and knowing that my son LEARNS the game...

~ Dr. Sophia Chernikova, Lead Parent Cipriani Elementary School in Belmont, CA (Apr 2010)

I thought the others were way too emotional for the tasks at hand. You covered each argument with class instead of anger. (I don't think the others could say the same).

~ Mr. Sean Wilson, Chess Coach from Corning Elementary, Corning, CA (Apr 2010)

Dr. Azhar was extremely helpful, supportive and encouraging as we set up and launched the BayAreaChess program this year at St. John the Baptist. The instructors have been top notch - the kids really like them, and are making excellent progress.

~ Matt Boxberger, Parent Leader at St. John the Baptist Chess Club in Milpitas, CA (Mar 2010)

I think you all are doing a great job. The kids were having a lot of fun playing chess today and there was remarkable improvement in the kids' games. Thanks!

~ Usha Kizhakekara, Chess Mom from San Ramon, CA (Nov 2009)

My son Daniel really enjoyed the chess camp. I see tremendous improvement in his game, and it's thanks to the teachings of Eric and Ed: openings, tricks, but most importantly how to play in a strategic way. Thanks to all of you!

~ Ofer Mendelevitch, Chess Player and Dad from Redwood City, CA (Nov 2009)

Our son Hunter attended two weeks of Bay Area Chess Camp this summer and loved every minute of it. The coaches were engaging and knowledgable, and kept him interested with open-ended discussions. In addition to his expert tutoring on chess openings, Eric Schiller's insights into the role of linguistics in the 'Dark Arts' of advertising have helped our son see how his chess skills are relevant to both academic and real world pursuits. It was a great camp and we hope to do it again next summer.

~ Becky Burwell, Chess Mom from Palo Alto, CA (Aug 2009)

The last week of chess camp in Palo Alto was fantastic. My son got a great run with Eric and Ed, which I think renewed his interest in the game.

~ Dr. Thomas Weber, Ph.D., Chess Player and Dad and Professor at Stanford University in Palo Alto, CA (Aug 2009)

My children really enjoyed the chess camp. I hope you'll continue the program next year. And also keep me posted on the after school programs.

~ S. Fong, Chess Mom from Los Altos, CA (Jul 2009)

I'm the mother of Danny Keane. He tells me this camp has been the best for him. Danny is having a fantastic time in chess camp. We owe this to Sasha. He is an inspiration to all the kids.

~ S. Keane, Chess Mom from Menlo Park, CA (Jul 2009)

The chess camp is great. Both of my kids had a good time so far - they challenged their dad on the first day home.

~ S. Fong, Chess Mom from Los Altos, CA (Jul 2009)

Just a quick note to tell you how well I thought the chess class was run last Friday. The initial organization and engagement of the kids was just great to see. The instructors had command of their audiences both in the large group setting and the small. I thought it was run so well. Thank you for bringing your fabulous program to our school.

~Ms. Kate Canessa, Chess Mom from Atherton, CA (Sep 2008)

BayAreaChess is a haven for chess aficionados of all ages and cultures as well as a great service to the community. It is one of my favorite places to play chess.

~Alex Radu, Chess Player from San Jose, CA (Jul 2008)

The dedication of you and your whole team is par excellence.

~Ms. Sayantee Dutt, Chess Mom from Fremont, CA (Jul 2008)

My son, and occasionally I too, have been participating in BayAreaChess tournaments for the last 2 years. Salman Azhar is the best tournament organizer around. He does not shirk from taking on extra work. He introduced additional rating sections, and even when a participant has a bye, Salman will try to provide an extra-rated game. He is always soliciting feedback to improve the organization and logistics.

~Bharat Kalyanpur, Chess Dad from Fremont, CA (Jul 2008)

Both Pranav and Chinmay loved the chess camp. They haven't stopped playing chess ever since.

~Shree Murthy, Chess Mom from Cupertino, CA (Jul 2008)

My son, who will be starting 3rd grade in Fall, has been a regular in the BayAreaChess tournaments. Whether he wins a trophy or a medal matters little to me because he is enjoying the game. I am happy to note that the results have been positive so far.

~Ms. Sayantee Dutt, Chess Mom from Fremont, CA (Jul 2008)

The summer chess camp this year was innovative mixing in Mathematics and Language Arts to keep the instruction more interesting and educational. My son enjoyed it thoroughly. Salman loves kids and the game. As a chess parent, I am grateful for his service.

~Bharat Kalyanpur, Chess Dad from Fremont, CA (Jul 2008)

My son talks about the chess camp a lot and told his Mom that this is the best Summer camp ever. BayAreaChess rocks!

~Mr. Scott Huang, Chess Dad from San Jose, CA (Jul 2008)

I would like to thank you for the good work you are doing for promoting chess among kids in the Bay Area.

~Ms. Sayantee Dutt, Chess Mom from Fremont, CA (Jul 2008)

I have tried many activities for my children but through his lessons at BayAreaChess, he has become smarter and developed lifelong friendships, and so have I.

~ Mr. Leo Lo, Chess Dad from Fremont, CA (May 2008)

BayAreaChess develops children with chess in after school programs, group lessons, scholastic events, and adult tournaments. Their approach to kids and families makes chess a fun activity for all.

~Dr. Zachi Baharav, Chess Player Dad from Palo Alto, CA (Jul 2007)

I have seen my son develop in self-confidence and intelligence through BayAreaChess coaching more than any other activity!

~Dr. Valery Shchelik, Chess Dad from Cupertino, CA (May 2007)

Salman has really turned his passion for chess into what can only be described as selfless service that is benefiting so many children.

~Dr. G. "Neel" Neelakantan, Chess Player and Dad from Alameda, CA (Apr 2007)

They are contributing and well respected figures in California's chess arena who conduct their chess activities, teaching and tournaments with the utmost professionalism and friendly manners.

~Dr. Zachi Baharav, Chess Player and Dad from Palo Alto, CA (Mar 2007)

He [Salman] has recruited the best people to help him. Thank you, Salman!

~Dr. G."Neel" Neelakantan, Chess Player and Dad from Alameda, CA (Jan 2007)