• 2014 Bay Area Named Championship Series
    @ Bay Area Chess Center, 1639A South Main St, Milpitas, CA 95035 (map)

    schiller aigner donaldson shankland

    Looking Ahead:
    IM W. John Donaldson Championship: August 8-10 or 9-10
    GM Samuel Shankland Championship: October 10-12 or 11-12
    Winter Championship: December 19-21 or 20-21

    Past events:
    GM George Koltanoswski Summer Championship: June 27-29 or 28-29
    NM Michael Aigner Championship: April 4-6 or 5-6
    FM Eric Schiller Championship: March 14-16 or 15-16

    These recurring tournaments are named after chess personalities who have had greatest influence on Bay Area Chess during its formative years. They helped Bay Area Chess get started from scratch and helped grow it to the most active affliate of USCF. This is our way of saying special thanks and preserve their contributions!
    If you want to get to the top, this can prepare you for the final leg of the journey starts to a titled player...
    Let the journey continue!

    You may participate in any of these events... there are discounts for registering for two or more of the following events...
    Tip: This is best suited for players who prefer long time controls.
  • Sections & Prizes
    $5,000 b/89 entries - 70% guaranteed!
    GPP 40 (Enhanced)

     1st2nd3rdClass Prizes1st2nd3rd
    MX (2000+) FIDE $1,000 $500 $200 under 2300> $250 $125 $100
    AB (1600-1999) $700 $300 $100 under 1800> $200 $100  
    (under 1600 & unr)
    $700 $300 $100 under 1400>
    under 1200>



    Unrated players prize capped at $100, except Open section.
    FIDE rated rounds: only those with G/90+30s time control will be submitted to FIDE.
  • Time control & Schedule

    Time Control:
    3-day: 6SS G/90 +30
    for u1600: G/90 d5
    2-day: Rds 1-3: G/70 d5, Rds 4-6: G/90 +30

    SectionOptionRegistrationRound 1Round 2Round 3Round 4Round 5Round 6
    MX (2000+)
    AB (1600-1999)
    (G/90 +30)
    Fr 6-6:45p Fr 7p Sa 9a Sa 1:20p Su 9a Su 1:30p Su 6p
    (Rds 1-3 G/70 d5)
    Sa 8-8:45a Sa 9a Sa 11:50a Sa 2:40p
    (G/90 d5)
    Fr 6-6:45p Fr 7p Sa 9a Sa 1:20p Su 9a Su 1p Su 5p
    (Rds 1-2 G/70 d5)
    Sa 8-8:45a Sa 9a Sa 11:50a Sa 2:40p
  • Fees

    Entry Fee: 89 at least 3 days before the tourney (Econ EF: 69 with 2/3 prize)
    Less than 3 days before the tourney +20
    Rated 2250+ $0 w 10 days prior (prize - EF)
    Playup +20

    Discounts based on # of tourneys: 2=$5 3=$10 4=$20 5=$30 6=$40...
    [Members get more discount online]
  • Organizers and TDs

    Main TDs: National TD Tom Langland, Sr. TD Jordan Langland, Sr. TD Dr. Salman Azhar, Justin Easterday, Dr. Judit Sztaray
    Other TDs: Aamir Azhar, Archit Dasika,  Pranav Kakulamarri, Steele Langland, John McCumiskey, Alekhya Nandula, Ram Nandula, Rishab Raj, Arvaind Sankar, Sankar Swaminathan, Vikram Vasan, and others.