• 2015 Bay Area Named Championship Series
    @ Bay Area Chess Center, 1639A South Main St, Milpitas, CA 95035 (map)

    aigner donaldson donaldson shankland

    Welcome to 2015!
    Full series for the new year:
    CM Azhar Memorial Championship: Jan 30/31 - Feb 1
    IM Kesav Viswanadha Championship: Mar 13/14 - 15
    GM Jesse Kraai Championship: Apr 17/18 - 19
    GM Melikset Khachiyan Championship:
    Jul 17/18 - 19

    GM Nick de Firmian Championship: Aug 21/22 - 23
    IM John Donaldson Championship: Sep 18/19 - 20
    GM Samuel Shankland Championship: Oct 16/17 - 18

    Recently Renamed:
    *** In Memory of IM Tate Championship:
    Nov 13/14 - 15 ***

    GM Sam Sevian Championship: Dec 18/19 - 20

    These recurring tournaments are named after chess personalities who have had the greatest influence on Bay Area Chess or who we are proud and thankful for their support over these years. Together, they helped Bay Area Chess get started from scratch and helped grow it to the most active affiliate of USCF. This is our way of saying a special thanks and preserve their contributions!
    If you want to get to the top, this can prepare you for the final leg of the journey to a titled player...
    Let the journey continue!

    You may participate in any of these events... there are discounts for registering for two or more of the following events...
    Tip: This is best suited for players who prefer long time controls.
  • Sections & Prizes
    $5,000 b/94 entries - 70% guaranteed!
    GPP 40 (Enhanced)

     1st2nd3rdClass Prizes1st2nd3rd
    MX (2000+) FIDE $1,000 $500 $200 under 2300> $250 $125 $100
    AB (1600-1999) $700 $300 $100 under 1800> $200 $100  
    (under 1600 & unr)
    $700 $300 $100 under 1400>
    under 1200>



    Unrated players prize capped at $100, except Open section.
    FIDE rated rounds: only those with 40/90 SD30 d5 time control in the Open section will be submitted to FIDE.

    Byes: There is no limit of how many 1/2 point byes can be requested. However, any 1/2 pt byes for the last two rounds must be requested before the start of Round 1.
  • Time control & Schedule

    Time Control:
    3-day: 5SS G/90 +30
    2-day: Rds 1-2: G/50 d5, Rds 3-5: G/90 +30

    OptionRegistrationRound 1Round 2Round 3Round 4Round 5
    (G/90 +30)
    Fr 6-6:45p Fr 7p Sa 9a Sa 1:20p Su 10a Su 2:30p
    (Rds 1-2 G/50 d5)
    Sa 8-8:45a Sa 9a Sa 11:10a
  • Fees

    Entry Fee: $89 at least 3 days before the tourney
    Econ Entry Fee: $69 with 2/3 prize
    Econ option is not available in the Open section, and it must be finalized before Round 1 starts.

    Re-entry fee: $39 (29 econ)
    Playup +$20

    Late Fee: <3 days before the tourney +$20

    Rated 2250+ $0 w 10 days prior (prize - EF)

    Discounts based on # of tourneys: 2=$5 3=$10 4=$20 5=$30 6=$40...
    [Members get more discount online]
  • Organizers and TDs

    Main TDs: National TD, FIDE IA Tom Langland, National TD, FIDE IA Richard Koepcke, Sr. TD Jordan Langland, Sr. TD Dr. Salman Azhar, Justin Easterday, Dr. Judit Sztaray

    Other TDs: Aamir Azhar, Archit Dasika,  Pranav Kakulamarri, Steele Langland, John McCumiskey, Rishab Raj, Arvind Sankar, Sankar Swaminathan, Vikram Vasan, and others.